Former Arizona Cardinals Warner, James Amongst HOF Semifinalists


The Pro Football Hall of Fame narrowed their class of 2015 list to 26 semifinalists on Tuesday

Former Arizona Cardinals quarterback Kurt Warner and running back Edgerrin James were named amongst a group of players named as the 26 semifinalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Tuesday.  Warner played for the Cardinals from 2005-2009 seasons and James from the 2006-2008 seasons.

More from Cardinals News

Both players were instrumental in putting the Arizona Cardinals back on the NFL map.  Warner was thought to be on the back end of a short but successful NFL career after winning the Super Bowl with the St. Louis Rams in 1999 but a less than successful stint with the New York Giants in 2004.  He came to the Cardinals in 2005 and was the starter for 10 games, going just 2-8.

In 2006, Warner was behind rookie Matt Leinart and same in 2007 until Leinart was injured early in the season.  Warner took over full time and never looked back.  He led the 2008 Cardinals to the Super Bowl and the 2009 Cardinals to the NFC Divisional Playoff.  He retired less than a month after that game in February 2010.

As for James, he was the first big free agent head coach Denny Green brought in in 2006 and help bring in the big crowds in the new University of Phoenix Stadium.  After leaving Arizona after the Super Bowl, he played one more season for the Seattle Seahawks in 2009 before retiring.

Players that are elected into the Pro Football Hall of Fame don’t choose a team they represent contrary to popular opinion.  Warner recently said he will always be grateful for the opportunity and for the success in St. Louis but he considers himself an Arizona Cardinal and still lives in the Phoenix area.

Warner finished his career with 32,344 yards passing and a 65.5 percent completion percentage with 208 touchdowns and 128 interceptions.  James rushed for 12,246 yards on 3,028 carries and 80 touchdowns in his career.

Normally there would be 25 names on this list but 26 exist because of a tie.  The list will be pared down to 15 in January and then the finalists will be named on January 31st, the night before Super Bowl XVLI in Glendale.