Team Captains chosen for the 2007 Season


The Arizona Cardinals will have five players represent their team as captains of the offensive, defensive and special teams units in the 2007 season.

The offensive players voted for their captain and chose WR Anquan Boldin. The defense voted and it ended up in a two way tie between ILB Gerald Hayes and SS Adrian Wilson, so both will serve as the defensive captain. Likewise, the whole team voted for the special teams captain which also resulted in a two way tie between K Neil Rackers and hard hitting safety Aaron Francisco, meaning both will be the special teams captains.

I think all of these picks are right on the money. Boldin is the fire that sparks the offense; he goes 100% all the time no matter what quarter it is or what the score is. His competitive spirit is a model for every other player on that unit. A-Dub is the pulse of the defense and everyone else feeds off of the big plays he produces week in and week out, and Hayes looks to become the leader of the front seven. I like the vote of Francisco and Rackers as captains on special teams because they are both so important to this team. Rackers will get back to his pro bowl form from 2005 and become “Mr. Automatic” again, while Francisco is the kind of player that makes game changing hits on unsuspecting opponents.

Each player will wear the letter “C” on their jerseys this year to denote their status as team captain. Great players and Great picks. GO CARDS!!!

Mike Duggan