Aug 3, 2013; Canton, OH, USA; Enshrinees and presenters pose with their busts at the 2013 Pro Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement at Fawcett Stadium. From left: Larry Allen (presenter Jerry Jones), Cris Carter (Duron Carter), Dave Robinson (Dave Robinson), Jonathan Ogden (Ozzie Newsome), Bill Parcells (George Martin), Curley Culp (Chad Culp)and Warren Sapp (Mercedes Sapp). Mandatory Credit: Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

NFL Enshrines Seven into Hall of Fame

Although there were no Arizona Cardinals players enshrined into the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday, there were still plenty of great men that were enshrined into the hall.  Jonathan Ogden, Dave Robinson, Larry Allen, Curley Culp, Bill Parcells, Warren Sapp, and Cris Carter.  Former Cards cornerback Aeneas Williams just missed making it in this year.

This night though was about who made it in.  I grew up being able to watch five of last nights inductees every Sunday.  Ogden, the first player younger than me to enter the hall so that is saying something right there.  At the age of 39, he enters just six years removed from the game.  He played for the Baltimore Ravens from 1996-2007.  He made the Pro Bowl 11 times and was a 10 time All-Pro.  He was an offensive lineman every team dreams about drafting and making a franchise guy.

Another dream offensive lineman was Larry Allen for the Dallas Cowboys.  Man, I sure hated and loved watching him at the same time.  I respected the job he did every Sunday.  I hated him for it because he played my Cardinals twice a season and destroyed pass rushers.

Bill Parcells is a guy who jumped around between several teams but not because he wasn’t good.  It was because of how good he is and how much teams value his services, whether it was on the sidelines or in the front office.  He won two Super Bowls with The New York Giants and took the New England Patriots to another.

Warren Sapp has never been one of my favorite people in the NFL.  I didn’t always like his style on the field or off the field since retirement.  He rubs people the wrong way from time to time but his numbers don’t lie and they are Hall of Fame numbers.

Cris Carter is the one who endured.  He got in on his sixth try.  It was about time the second leading receiver of all time behind Jerry Rice got into the Hall.  The fact is though, he got in and it was well deserved.

Congrats to all seven men and everything they accomplished to get here.


Next Cardinals Game Full schedule »
Sunday, Nov 22 Nov12:00at Dallas CowboysBuy Tickets

Tags: NFL Hall Of Fame

comments powered by Disqus